Skip to main content

Top Jubilee Politicians Who Lost in the Nominations

The ongoing Jubilee nomination exercises have seen a huge number of new political entrants win the coveted ticket while a number of big names have been shown the exit door, with their fates remaining unclear. Here are some big name losers:

In Nyeri County, Mutahi Kagwe, the current Senator for the county lost to Dr Wahome  Gakuru Gitari, who was on Thursday declared the winner. Dr Gakuru beat both Kagwe and incumbent Governor Samuel Wamathai.

Nyeri town MP Esther Murugi was defeated by political analyst Ngunjiri Wambugu after she managed 11,143 votes against wambugu’s 17,517.

Elsewhere, Othaya MP Mary Wambui was defeated by former President Mwai Kibaki's close ally Gichuki Mugambi who garnered 20,228 votes against Wambui's 12,524.

In Embu County, Runyenjes MP Cecily Mbarire suffered defeat in the hands of incumbent Martin Wambora, who tallied 60,634 votes against Mbarire's 43,509 votes.

In Nakuru County, former National Transport and Safety Authority Chairman Lee Kinanjui floored incumbent Governor Kinuthia Mbugua after Mbugua garnered 150,137 votes against Lee's 215,385 vote.

In what was expected to be a battle of titans in Kiambu County, Kiambu Governor William Kabogo was shown the exit door after managing only 69,916 votes against Ferdinand Waititu’s 353,567.

In Murang'a, Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau lost to his fierce rival and incumbent Mwangi wa Iria. Wa Iria tallied  205,976 votes against Kamau's 119,339.

Add new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
CAPTCHA This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions. Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.